Rarity Rock Radio


Tune in for Rarity Rock Radio’s Top 10 Favorites of the Month for February 2024 playing daily at 9am, Noon, and 6pm MST, including the following new music gems:

“Maktub” – Gary Clark Jr. (from upcoming new album ‘JPEG RAW’ plus more new songs from the album preview sampler playing following the RRR Top 10)

According to Consequence, “Gary Clark Jr. is back with four new tracks — his first collection of music in nearly five years — that serve as a sampler to his upcoming album JPEG RAW. The singer-songwriter’s fourth studio LP is out in full on March 22nd via Warner Records. JPEG RAW sees Clark further expand on his vast array of influences, merging traditional African music and jazz with elements of rock, R&B, hip-hop, and blues. The 12-track record incorporates samples of Thelonious Monk and Sonny Boy Williamson, and even includes collaborations with both Stevie Wonder and George Clinton. Pre-orders are ongoing. The four-track sampler includes “Maktub,” “JPEG RAW,” “This Is Who We Are,” and “Hyperwave,” all of which expectedly spotlight Clark’s big guitar riffs and soulful, evocative vocals.”

“I’m Unbreakable” – Crossbone Skully (a brand new song)

According to Wildfire Music + News, “Crossbone Skully is a new project led by Tommy Henriksen, who is guitarist and musical director for Alice Cooper’s band and member of Hollywood Vampires. “I’m Unbreakable” was recorded with Henriksen on lead vocals, guitar, bass, percussion and sound design, with Glen Sobel (Alice Cooper, Hollywood Vampires) on drums, Jamie Muhoberac (My Chemical Romance, John Mayer, Seal) on keys, Jason Roller (Ganjo), and The Hellhounds on backing vocals.”

“Better Things” – ALEXSUCKS (from ‘The Gutter’ album)

According to Sheesh Media, “this band is the real deal. There’s an irresistible quality about their aesthetic, their audacious energy, and their ability to evoke a sense of nostalgia that brings a breath of fresh air to the music scene.”

“Thinking Again” – Trampolene (from ‘Rules of Love & War’ album)

Says singer and lead Tramp Jack Jones: “I can’t believe we’ve managed to stay together long enough to make 4 albums. That’s the miracle. Having been friends since school. That’s what means the most to me now. We wanted the album to have a psychedelic, cinematic feel to it with grandiose layers, brass, strings and distorted guitars. I’m delighted with how it’s turned out. We got the title from ‘Down & Out In Paris & London’ (George Orwell). It’s felt like we’ve been living in an Orwellian world recently.” The first single to be taken from TRAMPOLENE’s new album, inspired by a CNN report on climate change, is Thinking Again.”

“My Lady of Mercy” – The Last Dinner Party (from new album ‘Prelude to Ecstasy’)

According to DIY Magazine, “Continuing the storming success of their first two singles ‘Nothing Matters’ and ‘Sinner’, The Last Dinner Party are back to share their third act, ‘My Lady Of Mercy’. Gothic and guitar-laden, the track arrives accompanied by a suitably cinematic video – the likes of which we’ve come to expect from TLDP.”

“For Your Eyes Only” – LYZA featuring Vel Nine and Jaydonclover

According to British Hip Hop, “For Your Eyes Only offers up smooth breathy vibes on this new dreamy release from Lyza Jane via Blah Records.”

“New World Order” – Gemma Rogers (a brand new song)

Gemma says of the song, “New World Order is about trying to make sense of the shape-shifting world we live in.” According to the official press release, the song covers ‘three and a half minutes of social observation as a sunshine ska tip of the hat to all of London’s political music legends’.”

“Astral Plane” – On Paper (a brand new song)

This is their first studio single since 2022.

“Someday, Someday” – Pete Yorn (a brand new song)

According to KCRW, “LA-based singer-songwriter Pete Yorn follows his acting debut on Martin Scorcese’s Killers of the Flower Moon with a new song. “Someday, Someday” pulls Yorn into a roots-rock mix reminiscent of a Nick Drake song while humbly showcasing his prowess on acoustic guitar.”

“Water Underground” – Real Estate (from upcoming new album ‘Daniel’)

According to NME, “Directed by Edmond Hawkins, the music video for ‘Water Underground’ pays tribute to the 1990s Nickelodeon sitcom The Adventures of Pete & Pete. The video stars the New Jersey-native band – comprised of Martin Courtney, Alex Bleeker, Matt Kallman, Julian Lynch and Sammi Niss – as well as Petes themselves.

Speaking about the track in a press release, Courtney said: “This song is about writing songs. I think ‘Water Underground’ is like the unconscious, the mysterious part of your brain where creativity comes from. The constant flow of music in the back of your head. You get an idea while driving or walking the dog or something and you want to hold on to it.””

Plus Blast From The Past: “Try” – Eddie Vedder featuring Stevie Wonder (from ‘Earthing’ album)

Tune in at rarityrockradio.com and sign up for the new RRR newsletter on the home page for all the latest station updates and exclusives.

We have more rock music gems and new programming for the Rarity Rock Radio airwaves in 2024. Go to rarityrockradio.com/blog for details on our monthly schedule!


Previous post
Next post
Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *