Rarity Rock Radio


All Sound is Music 36, August 2023

This month features another eclectic mix of musician composers from around the world. Greece, Finland, Belgium, Britain, Vietnam and the U.S. are all represented. There is ambient music, electroacoustic music and electronic music.

Notes on the music:
dawn bree – existential at denny’s. San Diego-based artist dawn bree uses both modular synthesizers and acoustic instruments to, in her words, act as another dimension of expression.

Autechre – see on see. The British electronic duo Autechre have been releasing music since 1993. This piece is from 2010’s Oversteps, their 10th recording. Of their sound Matt Kennedy of the BBC has said, “Beneath the icy exterior, deceptively warm hearts beat.”

Yaaard – Forses. Released in 2019, Yaaard’s recording How to Download a Glass of Water is such an eclectic collection of songs that I felt compelled to put one here on All Sound is Music and one on my rock-oriented show Lisbon 3 a.m. In addition to creating both ambient and pop music, Yaaard, aka Chris Catlin, is the brain behind Reckno Records, self-described as a frontierless abstract record label.

Rob Frye – Saxophone Weon. Rob Frye is the best player of bicycle parts since Frank Zappa made his infamous Steve Allen show appearance in the 60s. Reminiscent of Steve Riech and Terry Riley, Saxophone Weon features Frye playing bicycle wheels and saxophone.

Rắn Cạp Đuôi Collective – Distant People. This Vietnamese collective is central to the experimental music scene of Saigon. Their anarchic approach has included a three drum improvisation and a non-stop 48 hour performance in an art gallery.

From their website: “Rắn Cạp Đuôi is a Saigon-based collective of autodidacts for whom the relative absence of virtuosity might or might not have been made up for with an abundance of go for it open-mindedness. Schizophrenically hopscotching between but never comfortably resting. The group channels the un-neat ruleless strangely ferocious world of quantum mechanics.”

SITKA – Fallow. Belgian artist SITKA is inspired by the sound of tape machines. His manipulated guitar, broken sounds and noise create otherworldly environments that are both spare and inviting.

Hulva – Palsa. Finnish composer Hulva mixes traditional instruments with modern electronics. Their electroacoustic works continue a long-standing tradition of mixing the old and new in Finnish music.

Dimitris Savva – Distruption 5. Greek composer Dimitris Savva studied electroacoustic composition in Greece and Britain, getting his PhD from the University of Sheffield. His work has been performed in over 86 international music festivals. He has developed his own compositional method called dramatised-performative narrative.

Jonathan Fitoussi – Soleil de Minuit. Paris-based composer Jonathan Fitoussi works in a minimalist vein exploring the fusion of electronic and acoustic sounds. He has composed for films, commercials and collaborated on a piece for Venice Bienalle in 2017.

All Sound is Music streams on the third Wednesday of each month at 8 pm MST on Rarity Rock Radio http://rarityrockradio.fm

Archives of past shows can be found at http://bit.ly/allsoundismusic

Rap Cap Duoi Collective info:

Previous post
Next post
Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *