Rarity Rock Radio


Tune in for Rarity Rock Radio’s Top 10 Favorites of the Month for September 2023 playing daily at 9am, Noon, and 6pm PT, including the following new music gems:

1.) “Damage Control” – Chris Shiflett (from upcoming new album ‘Lost At Sea’)

According to Consequence, “Foo Fighters guitarist Chris Shiflett has revealed his newest solo record, Lost at Sea, will be out October 20th via Blue Élan Records. Along with the announcement, Consequence is exclusively premiering his new single, “Damage Control.” Lost at Sea was recorded primarily in Nashville with producer Jaren Johnston of the Cadillac Three. Other collaborators on the album include fellow guitarists Charlie Worsham, Tom Bukovac, and Nathan Keeterle. Featuring a laidback tone, shuffling rhythm section, and country rock embellishments, Shiflett has affectionally dubbed “Damage Control” as “Ska-mericana.” An amalgamation of the songwriter’s stylistic interests, Shifflet points to acts like The Clash as one of the primary influences for the track’s idiosyncratic feel.”

2.) “Doubt” – Slow Pulp (from upcoming new album ‘Yard’)

According to Ones To Watch, “Slow Pulp’s latest single “Doubt” is the sonic encapsulation of an “Oh well!” moment. It lingers on a feeling even while it moves on from it. The song is propelled by a persistent drum beat and rhythmically picked guitars that fall in step with one another, spinning out with a forward motion. Simultaneously, it ripples with an angsty nostalgia that courses through the grungy chords and lightweight distortion. “Doubt” would be a seamless opening track to a coming-of-age ’90s movie, one with an unlikely romance and a colorful crew of outcasts, all set in some grimy, small-town record store.”

3.) “Nothing Left To Lose” – Bleach Lab (from upcoming new album ‘Lost In A Rush Of Emptiness’)

According to Under The Radar Magazine, “UK-based band Bleach Lab release another evocative, glittering single in the shape of ‘Nothing Left To Lose,’ which also arrives with a cinematic and atmospheric Edward Heredia-directed video. It’s taken from their forthcoming debut album, Lost In A Rush of Emptiness, set for release on September 22nd via Nettwerk. Produced by Boygenius, PJ Harvey, and The Big Moon collaborator Catherine Marks, the band recorded the album together live in the same room for the first time after their trio of acclaimed EPs were recorded during the isolation of lockdown. Bleach Lab is gearing up for a run of Autumn headline tour dates through Europe, Ireland, and the UK.”

4.) “The Beaters” – Weekend Lovers (from new compilation ‘HookwormTWO’)

About the song from the artist:
“Here’s that summer jam SINGLE from the new Hookworm Records 2 COMPILATION!
It’s been 3 years since we’ve released any new music. ENJOY.”

5.) “The Chemical Tide” – Birds and Arrows (from new compilation ‘HookwormTWO’)

About the song from the artists:
“The Chemical Tide is a dark bop about the ups and downs of battling depression and getting older.
As listeners and writers both me (Andy) and Pete are attracted, first and foremost, to music that conveys honest emotion. And explores darker themes but delivered through beautiful melodies. So that’s how we approached this new one.
We realize most people like their pop music sugary sweet but not us. There has to be a dark undertone to draw us in.
And the visuals in this video are in keeping w/ that theme 👁️📺
The lyrics were also inspired by dreams and nostalgic memories, some word for word from Pete’s journal.”

6.) “Through The Mirror” – Louise Le Hir (from new album ‘Tiny Golden Pins’)

Raised by her Breton mother and Coloradan father, Louise Le Hir sings songs of fierce Cosmic American French Dream Pop. Her influences range from The Byrds and Neil Young, to France Gall and Françoise Hardy, to the Motown Girl Group tradition. Her producer/arranger is Matt Rendon of Midtown Island Studio. After spending time in the LA neo-psychedelic music scene, she’s now based out of Tucson.

7.) “Broken Tongue” – Noah Martin Music (brand new song)

Noah Martin is a high energy alternative rock singer/songwriter musician from Tucson, AZ. Being from Arizona and with familial roots in Nogales, Noah is heavily influenced by many Mexican artists and styles of music as well as The Beatles, Green Day, Oasis, Lenny Kravitz just to name a few. Noah has released 10 singles and in 2022 his first EP In Due Time was released with Martin playing all instruments. All music can be found on all major platforms.

8.) “Daisy” – Armando Moreno & The Revival (from brand new EP ‘Harmony & Love’)

Rarity Rock Radio Featured Artist/Band of the Month:
Armando Moreno & The Revival and songs from the new EP ‘Harmony & Love’ streaming now.

9.) “I Know I Know” – Vistas (from upcoming new album ‘Is This All We Are?’)

According to All Music Magazine, “Kickstarting a new era for Vistas, bringing heavier elements into play that gloriously played off the breezy, euphoric staples of their two critically lauded albums, ‘Is This All We Are?’ as a body of work picks up the baton from where the most recent EP left off as the band hurtle towards esteemed festival slots at this year’s Reading and Leeds Festivals.”

10.) “Stand On My Own” – Augustana (brand new song)

Plus Blast From The Past song: “I’ve Been Waiting For This” by Butch Walker (from ‘Peachtree Battle’ EP)

Followed by Featured Artist of the Month: Armando Moreno & The Revival and more songs from the new EP ‘Harmony & Love’ streaming now. Armando’s ability to orchestrate rock/pop and country with soul leaves no one’s heart untouched.

Tune in at rarityrockradio.com and sign up for the new RRR newsletter on the home page for all the latest station updates and exclusives.

Previous post
Next post
Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *