Rarity Rock Radio


All Sound is Music Ep. 37

This month’s show features a mix of new and old music, the return of some favorite composers and a bit of electronic music history in the form of Mexican composer and musician Antonio Russek.

Notes on the music:
Antonio Russek – Ofrenda. This electroacoustic piece combines environmental field recordings with Tibetan bowls, voice and sound sculptures made by Russek.

In the 1970s Russek established the first electronic music studio in Mexico and founded the Centro Independiente de Investigación Musical y Multimedia, which fostered new music, publications, editorial and academic work, conferences, concerts and other events.

He has worked with composer Iannis Xenakis and the French composer Francois Bayle, who also, for over 30 years, was director of the Groupe de Recherches Musicales, a locus of French experimental musical research and production.

Suki Sou – Velocity of Water. Released in 2023 Sou’s recording Notes on Listening revels in her influences, from the minimalism of Terry Riley to the electronica of Roedelius and Suzanne Ciani.

Dane Law – Cope. Like many artists Law found himself working on melodic and meditative music during the Covid lockdown. Based on books about polar exploration, blue-forty-six was created by extensively sampling an acoustic guitar and then using software to play the samples in a live computer-based improvisation.

Fred Frith and Henry Kaiser – Roy Rogers. Kaiser has an extensive discography and is also a filmmaker. He has spent significant time in Antarctica as a research diver. Frith is a well-known experimental guitarist and founding member of the art-rock band Henry Cow.

Loula Yorke – SKIM. Electronic Sound magazine has called Yorke a rising star of the electronic music scene in England. In 2020 her community-focused electronics practice was recognized with a Special Commendation from the Oram Awards.

Andrew Ostler – Crossing the Line, Part 2. With no apologies Ostler tips his hat to the Berlin school of synthesized sequences. Recalling the best work of Tangerine Dream, Cluster and the rest of the usual suspects he gives us 20 minutes of beautifully layered sounds.

Codespira1 – Triangular Progression. Stockholm-based composer Codespira1 aka Mattias Petersson, is a classically trained pianist who mixes modular synthesis with sounds created in the musical programming environment SuperCollider.

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Labyrinth II. Smith studied composition and sound engineering at the Berklee College of Music in Boston. After a year of experimenting on a borrowed Buchla synthesizer she abandoned her folk music band Ever Isles and has carved out a successful career as an electronic composer/musician. In addition to her solo work, Smith has collaborated with electronic pioneer Suzanne Ciani on the album Sunergy.

Laurie Spiegel – Appalachian Grove I. During the 60s and 70s Spiegel was an integral part of the New York City electronic music scene. Her realization of Johannes Kepler’s “Harmonices Mundi” was chosen to be a track on the golden record placed aboard the Voyager spacecraft in 1977.

Spiegel’s interest in interactive and algorithmic logic in composition led to her work on many early computer-based composition and music creation tools. In 1986, she developed Music Mouse, an intelligent instrument, for Macintosh, Amiga and Atari computers. She has continued to develop Music Mouse and it is still available today.

All Sound is Music streams on the third Wednesday of each month at 8 pm MST on Rarity Rock Radio http://rarityrockradio.fm

Archives of past shows can be found at http://bit.ly/allsoundismusic

Previous post
Next post
Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *